From barley to the bottle

img

1. Growing the barley

The spring barley is harvested in fields just a few dozen metres from the distillery, in Hesbaye, where the soil is renowned for its richness in oligo-elements. The Hesbaye region is one of the best places in the world for growing cereal crops.

img

2. Malting

The harvested barley is then sent to a maltery where the seeds are moistened to make them germinate. The malt obtained is dried and sent back to the distillery. Our Belgian Owl is not currently peaty.

img

3. Grinding

The malt is ground in the distillery’s mill. Once it has been ground, the malt releases the sugar that it contains more easily. This stage is essential for obtaining a perfect grist - ground malt.

img

4. Mashing

The ground malt is mixed with hot water in the mash tun for six hours. During this stage, the malt’s sugars are dissolved in the water. The mash tun for six hours. During this stage, the malt’s sugars are dissolved in the water. The water used is collected in wells located next to the distillery and comes from a water table 38 metres deep.

img

5. Fermentation

The slightly sweetened liquid - also called wort - is then transferred into a fermentation tank where the sugars are transformed into alcohol over a 72 hour period. The fruity and floral aromas typical of our region appear at this stage.

img

6. Distillation

A double distillation. is then carried out. Over 8 hours, the fermented wort is successively heated in two stills that came from the former Caperdonich distillery in Scotland. Once again, we prefer using a slow process for this stage. The alcoholic vapours are cooled and then collected which creates the distillate.

img

7. Ageing in casks

The distillate collected is then transferred to oak casks. The casks came from the United States where they were used once for ageing American Bourbon whiskey. We also only use them once. In order to obtain the European “whisky” Appellation d’Origine Contrôlée label, a minimum ageing period of three years is required.

img

8. Bottling

So as to preserve all of its flavours, Belgian Owl is non-chill filtered bottled at 46% volume with no colourings. As each cask is unique, this natural colouration can vary from one bottling to another.

Les 8 étapes de fabrication

img

1. La culture de l'orge

L'orge de printemps est récoltée sur les champs à quelques dizaines de mètres de la distillerie, en Hesbaye, où le sol est réputé pour sa richesse en oligo-éléments. Le terroir de Hesbaye est un des meilleurs au monde pour la culture de céréales.

img

2. Le maltage

L’orge récoltée est ainsi envoyée dans une malterie où les grains sont humidifiés pour les faire germer. Le malt obtenu est séché et renvoyé à la distillerie. Actuellement, notre Belgian Owl n’est pas tourbé.

img

3. Le concassage

Le malt est concassé dans le moulin de la distillerie. Ainsi broyé, le malt libère plus facilement le sucre qu’il contient. Cette étape est primordiale pour obtenir un grist – malt concassé – parfait.

img

4. La macération

Le malt concassé est mélangé à l’eau chaude dans la cuve de macération durant six heures. Durant cette étape, les sucres du malt sont dissouts dans l’eau. L’ eau utilisée est récoltée dans le puits situé à côté de la distillerie et provient d’une nappe phréatique à 38 mètres de profondeur.

img

5. La fermentation

Le liquide légèrement sucré – aussi appelé moult – est ensuite transféré dans les cuves de fermentation où pendant une durée de 72 heures les sucres se transforment en alcool. Durant cette étape, les arômes fruités et floraux typiques de notre terroir apparaissent.

img

6. La distillation

S’opère ensuite une double distillation. Durant 8 heures, le moult fermenté est chauffé successivement dans deux alambics provenant de la distillerie Ex-Caperdonich en Ecosse. Pour cette étape encore, un processus lent est privilégié. Les vapeurs d’alcool sont refroidies et ainsi récupérées donnant naissance au distillat.

img

7. La mise en fût

Le distillat récupéré est ensuite transféré dans des tonneaux en chênes. Les fûts viennent des Etats-Unis où ils ont servi une première fois pour vieillir le whiskey américain, le Bourbon. Nous les utilisons, à notre tour, une seule fois. Afin d’obtenir l’appellation d’origine contrôlée européenne « whisky », un vieillissement de minimum trois ans est requis.

img

8. La mise en bouteille

Pour préserver toutes les saveurs, Belgian Owl est embouteillé sans filtration à froid à 46% vol. et ne subit aucune coloration. Chaque fût étant unique, cette coloration naturelle peut varier d’un embouteillage à l’autre.